CRIME & PUNISHMENT

FELONIES

FIRST DEGREE FELONIES

Punishment Ranges for Felonies in Texas

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR FIRST DEGREE FELONIES:

  • Confinement for life or from five to ninety-nine years and a possible fine not to exceed $10,000

  • Possibility of community supervision


EXAMPLES OF FIRST DEGREE FELONIES:

  • Aggravated assault of public servant

  • Aggravated kidnapping

  • Aggravated robbery

  • Aggravated sexual assault

  • Arson of habitation

  • Burglary of a habitation with intent to commit or commission of a felony

  • Causing serious bodily injury to child, senior citizen, or disabled person

  • Escape from custody (if serious bodily injury occurs)

  • Murder

  • Trafficking of persons under the age of fourteen

SECOND DEGREE FELONIES

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR SECOND DEGREE FELONIES:

  • Two to twenty years in prison and possible fine not exceed $10,000

  • Possibility of community supervision

 

EXAMPLES OF SECOND DEGREE FELONIES:

 

  • Aggravated assault (not public servant)

  • Aggravated kidnapping (safe release)

  • Arson

  • Bribery

  • Burglary of Habitation

  • Evading arrest (and death of another occurs)

  • Improper relationship between educator and student

  • Indecent contact with a child

  • Intoxication manslaughter

  • Manslaughter

  • Online solicitation of a minor under fourteen

  • Robbery

  • Sexual assault

  • Stalking-second offense

  • Trafficking of persons

THIRD DEGREE FELONIES

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR THIRD DEGREE FELONIES:

 

  • Two to ten years in prison and possible fine not to exceed $10,000

  • Possibility of community supervision


EXAMPLES OF THIRD DEGREE FELONIES:

  • Aggravated perjury

  • Bail jumping of a felony arrest

  • Deadly conduct with a firearm

  • DWI 3rd or more

  • Escape from felony custody

  • Evading arrest in a vehicle

  • Indecent exposure to a child

  • Intoxication assault

  • Possession of a firearm by a felon

  • Stalking

  • Tampering with evidence

  • Violation of protective order (third offense)

STATE JAIL FELONIES

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR STATE JAIL FELONIES:

  • 180 days to two years in a state jail and possible fine not to exceed $10,000

  • Possibility of community supervision

  • Possibility of punishment as Class A misdemeanor


EXAMPLES OF STATE JAIL FELONIES:

 

  • Burglary of a building

  • Credit card abuse

  • Criminally negligent homicide

  • DWI with child passenger

  • Evading Arrest (on foot with a prior)

  • False alarm or report

  • Forgery of a check

  • Fraudulent use or possession of identifying information

  • Improper photography or visual recording

  • Interference of child custody

  • Possession of less than one gram of a controlled substance

  • Theft of property valued between $2,500 and $30,000

  • Unauthorized use of a vehicle

MISDEMEANORS

CLASS A MISDEMEANORS

Punishment Ranges for Misdemeanors in Texas

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR CLASS A MISDEMEANORS:

  • Up to one year in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $4000.

  • Up to two years of community supervision or three years with an extension


EXAMPLES OF CLASS A MISDEMEANORS:

  • Assault with bodily injury

  • Bail jumping of misdemeanor offense

  • Burglary of coin operated machine

  • Burglary of a vehicle

  • DWI (2nd offense, or a BAC >=0.15)

  • Evading arrest on foot

  • Interference with 911 call

  • Obscenity

  • Possession of two to four ounces of marijuana

  • Promoting gambling

  • Public lewdness

  • Resisting arrest

  • Stealing check

  • Theft of property $750 or more but less than $2,500

  • Unlawfully carrying a weapon

  • Violation of protective order

CLASS B MISDEMEANORS

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR CLASS B MISDEMEANORS:

 

  • Up to 180 days in the county jail and/or fine not to exceed $2000

  • Up to two years of community supervision or three years with an extension


EXAMPLES OF CLASS B MISDEMEANORS:

 

  • Criminal Trespass

  • DWI

  • False report to police officer

  • Fraudulent degree

  • Harassment

  • Indecent exposure

  • Possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana

  • Prostitution

  • Riot

  • Silent Calls to 911

  • Terroristic threat

  • Theft of property between $100 and $750

CLASS C MISDEMEANORS

PUNISHMENT RANGE FOR CLASS C MISDEMEANORS:

  • Fine not to exceed $500


EXAMPLES OF CLASS C MISDEMEANORS:

 

  • Assault by threat

  • Disorderly conduct

  • Gambling

  • Issuance of bad check

  • Leaving child in a vehicle

  • Minor in possession of alcohol

  • Possession of alcoholic beverage in motor vehicle

  • Public intoxication

  • Use of Laser pointers

CONTACT OUR OFFICE TODAY

top-100-national-trial-lawyers-1.png
OUR ADDRESS

The  Slaughter Law Firm, PLLC
505 West 12th Street, Suite 200-B
Austin TX 78701

 

Get directions

 

512-808-0280 phone
512-870-9000 fax

JD@JDSlaughterLaw.Com

​Disclaimer: The information you obtain on this website is for informational purposes only, and is not legal advice. Nothing herein is intended to serve as a substitute for the advice of an attorney who is licensed in your applicable jurisdiction. We invite you to contact us by telephone, email or the “Contact Us” link, but doing so does not create an attorney-client relationship. Further, until an attorney-client relationship has been established, please do not send us any confidential information.

© 2020 JD Slaughter Law, PLLC. All rights reserved.